Articles

Vital Information

In Arts & Crafts, Rich, Vital Information on September 1, 2010 by Two Barbers

DISCLAIMER: This is a rant.  More of a Doogie Howser style computer journal entry than our usual article style posts.

This week I am repainting my bedroom for the second time in my life.  The first time I was about 19, and had just moved into my sister’s room which was previously bright pink, so my goal was just to make it as “un-pink” as possible.  My parents wouldn’t let me paint it black like I wanted to, but I was happy with various shades of gray I ended up using.  It may not have been the most professional paint job ever, but I was proud of it.

8 years later I am a more experienced, though probably not much better painter, and have decided it was time to upgrade my teenage self’s masterpiece.  This time around, I’m going with a little more interesting colors .  Why?  Not because I’ve reached any sort of level of maturity or knack for interior design, but because it’s a change.  I’m still proud of the paint job I did back in the day, as well as the remains of the humongous spider I killed a year ago that I never cleared off for fear it would somehow come back to life, but I feel good about the way things are going right now in my life, and this new look for my room will be a good way to show my progress.  It will be cleaner, more professional  and hopefully free of spider guts.

The moral of the story is home improvement can function as a good representation of self-improvement.  It’s a great way to start a new chapter in your life and provides you with a tangible reminder that you’re going in the right direction.  This may not be a typical post for this blog, but it’s something that was on my mind and I thought worth sharing.  Hopefully it resonates in some way with you.

Maybe next week I’ll go into some of the details of how to properly paint a room.

Leave a Reply

