Articles

What To Do This Weekend (12-08-10)

In Concerts, What To Do This Weekend on December 9, 2010 by Two Barbers Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Bad Rabbits, Gabriel The Marine, Secret Secret Dino Club, Night Fevers & Dussel Has Friends @ Broadway Bar (Amityville, NY)


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This Friday night you’re going to have the chance to start off your holiday season with a bang.

Before I tell you why, I just want to clarify that in an effort to avoid any potential labeling as narcissistic, I won’t be talking about the fact that my band Dussel Has Friends is on this bill.  That being said, by now hopefully you know I would never steer you wrong when it comes to how to spent the precious few hours you have over the weekend to enjoy yourself.  So I give you my word, it is with only mild self-interest that I recommend this show to you.

Here’s a little bit about who’s performing:

Bad Rabbits
I saw Bad Rabbits at Maxwell’s in Hoboken last year, and have been itching to see them again since.  They blend Hip Hop, Funk and ridiculous musicianship into one nice little package.  For some reason, they give me the feeling you could have easily switched them for Parliament Funkadelic in the house party scene in PCU and it would have been just as epic. Trust me,  you’ll be hearing a lot about these guys in 2011.

Gabriel The Marine
On the one hand, if I give Gabriel The Marine any more praise on this blog I could probably start charging them PR fees.  On the other hand, I might get accused of having a little bit of an ‘unhealthy’ obsession with them.  So in hopes of not achieving fanboy status before they even sign a record deal, I’m just going to give you a link to a review of them I wrote for examiner.com.

Night Fevers
Still wrestling with the question of  whether or not blow is right for you?  Fear not, this is your answer.  Night Fevers is sonic cocaine.  Even better, they won’t kill you or end up making you dress like 1970s David Bowie.  Be forewarned though, bring your own glo-sticks.  These guys may pass them out at shows, but they packed Arlene’s Grocery so full a couple of weeks ago that the cops had to come shut the place down. Translation, they might run out before you get there.

So come down Friday night; drink, dance and be merry.  I promise you this will be one hell of a shindig, especially if you stick around for the after party.   Because once the rock and hip hop portion of the night wraps up, GRVRBBRS is gonna keep the rager going with a good ol’fashion dance party (Hint: save the glo-sticks from Night Fevers set!).

Lesssss goooo!!!

Happy non-denominational holidays!

-Rich

Leave a Reply

